Ministry of Education launches partnership with urban schools – Inside INdiana Business

Image courtesy:

The Indiana Department of Education is launching a partnership that aims to increase access to post-secondary courses through the Early College High School Program. The IDOE says the Urban College Acceleration Network connects established urban junior high schools and urban schools seeking to become junior high schools.

The Early College High School program, which is led by the University of Indianapolis Center for Excellence in Leadership and Learning, offers dual credit opportunities that help students earn post-secondary credit alongside their college degree. secondary studies.

“We know that achievement gaps persist in reading, math, and educational attainment among racially and ethnically diverse, low-income, special education, and English students in Indiana — gaps that have been exacerbated by the pandemic,” Indiana Secretary of Education Dr. Katie Jenner said. “I am thrilled that, through the UCAN partnership, many of our urban schools are coming together to leverage their collective knowledge and experience to fill these gaps and expand pathway opportunities for every student to succeed.

Through the program, the IDOE says partner schools will also have free access to coaching and support for Early College courses, as well as professional development opportunities for educators.

UCAN mentoring schools include:

  • Ben Davis University High School, Marion County
  • Hobart High School, Lake County
  • Muncie Central High School, Delaware County
  • Penn High School, St. Joseph’s County

UCAN partner schools include:

  • Anderson High School, Madison County
  • Arsenal Technical High School, Marion County
  • Concord High School, Elkhart County
  • Crispus Attucks High School, Marion County
  • Goshen High School, Elkhart County
  • Hammond Central High School, Lake County
  • Herron High School and Riverside High School, Marion County
  • Irvington Preparatory Academy, Marion County
  • Morton High School, Lake County
  • Terre Haute North Vigo Secondary School, Vigo County
  • Terre Haute South Vigo Secondary School, Vigo County
  • West Side Leadership Academy, Lake County

The ministry says the program is funded by $4.1 million under the third cycle of the Elementary and Secondary Schools Emergency Relief Fund.


About Author

Comments are closed.